You are here:  Home  >  Sports  >  Athlete of the Week  >  Current Article

CMS baseball and softball teams qualify for state, earn Athlete of the Week honors

By   /  September 27, 2014  /  No Comments

    Print       Email

The Collinsville Middle School softball and baseball teams each advanced to the state tournament this week, earning the teams an even split of the Metro Independent Athlete of the Week award.

The 2014 Collinsville Middle School baseball team / Submitted photo

The 2014 Collinsville Middle School baseball team / Submitted photo

The 2014 CMS softball team / Submitted Photo

The 2014 Collinsville Middle School softball team / Submitted Photo

The Trail Blazer baseball team defeated Fulton (O’Fallon) Middle School 12-0 to qualify for the State Tournament. CMS were conference champions also, going a perfect 7-0 in conference play this year.  The team finished 14-4 overall.

Head Coach Josh Hartle said his team was led by deep pitching and a potent offense, with speed and power. The Trail Blazers play Millstadt at 1 p.m. Oct. 4 in Centralia in the opening game of the state tournament.

The softball Trail Blazers entered Regional play seeded third, but knocked of Fulton Middle School in the opening round, before shutting out top seeded Wolf Branch 6-0 to advance to State. Despite finishing the regular season one game under .500, head coach Gary Wilson said the young team gelled at the end of the season.

“We are peaking now, which is a good time to peak,” Wilson said.

A pitching staff dominated by 7th graders led the varsity softball team to the State Tournament, Wilson said. The Softball Trail Blazer also face Millstadt in the opening round of the tournament on Oct. 4. Game time is 11 a.m. in Centralia.

The success of the 2014 baseball and softball teams comes after the CMS volleyball and boys basketball teams qualified for State last year and the bowling team won State.

CMS varsity baseball team members: TJ. Williams, Garrett Morski, Devon Bovinett, Gavin Woods, Jacob Dumstorff, Noah Scrum, Tate Wyatt, Zack Hartman, Logan Whitehead, Zane Baker, Brendan Rasch, Sam Phelps, Logan Jackson, Spencer Vlasik, Kris Modlin, Coach Joshua Hartle

CMS varsity softball team members: Heather Martinez, Krysta Swartz, Samantha Brakebill, Mikaila Chrisman, Haleigh Jeunger, Emily Claxton, Alyssa Modlin, Carrie Brewer, Adriana Hall, Makenzie Kell, Haley Ashford, Autumn Ham, Madeline Lautz, Gabrielle Niebruegge, Amber Keplar, Skie Barker

    Print       Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *